Although it seems in this instance even getting what we need is almost impossible.
I can't sleep. Well. I mean, I
can sleep. My body is physically tired and it could use some sleep but I have things on my mind. Unfortunately when I'm stressed/worried etc the first thing to go is my ability to sleep. Wish it was my appetite but there you go. So, I'm here, ready to talk, if you're ready to listen. It's all really self involved if that's ok, I may forget to ask how you are and I apologise in advance for that.
Anyway, here's a one o'clock in the morning thought for you. You can try to be good, honest, kind, hardworking etc.... but that doesn't mean fuck all in life. It means nothing. No-one accepts them as worthy qualities. No-one sees you as any different from anyone else for having those traits. You won't earn more, you won't look better and you sure as hell won't feel better. So why the fuck are you even trying?
These are, unfortunately,all things which I try my best to be (although I'm not always but on the most part that's how I'd like to think of myself) and recently, we, as a couple, have just proved me right. It really doesn't mean shit.
Here's why (in chronological order) it doesn't mean shit to me:
I left my job and feel like that is my fault. Anyone can tell me it was driving me crazy/making me ill etc but I should've worked harder to be sane. Fullstop. That fact would've made the next stuff easier.
He left his job and it's my fault. He hated it there but maybe if I'd have stuck in my job he would've felt like he should've stuck in his. I don't feel upset that he did it, he hated it and he was well within his right to but at least we would've had something to fall back on. Mind you, if I hadn't of done the above thing this thing wouldn't have been so bad.
Someone tried to break in. I almost walked in on them. I didn't see them or even realise at the time what was happening but it still freaks me out a bit. This thing, however, is a tiny cog.
He didn't have the best birthday possible. I wanted it to be amazing because he deserved it so much but out of the 3 events we had the first was taken over by people doing what they wanted to do, the second he was almost forgotton and when he wasn't it was an afterthought because it was someone else's birthday (this really hurt his feelings) and at the 3rd he invited an old friend and was really disappointed in their actions and that brought it down for him.
Our washing machine broke. We have no money anyway and it broke down. This is the point when I start thinking, hang on there are a few things going wrong - hope it doesn't get worse.
The next item was the biggest, most devastating thing to happen. Up until now, whatever happened we thought that it's fine because we have enough money coming in. Yesterday, he got crushingly fired. The person in question who was his boss is someone who I thought was a fairly reasonable, polite person. It turns out I was wrong. Throughout the whole process he has mentioned frequently about how his boss keeps changing his mind about what he wants and, keeps changing and carrying on jobs but doing it really badly. This has meant a lot more work for a certain someone and more frustration. In any event, while his boss was on holiday he was required to build a wall and fill it in. Well, not only were there not enough materials but his boss had done half of it really badly. Yesterday he went into work and found that the wall he had built had been torn down. At the end of the day his boss came home and essentially, told him off but worse than that. He said that he was ashamed (
ashamed!) of the work that had been done and requested that it was all pulled up and that he no longer work there (I should point that he has never said he is expert at what he was doing but that he could learn along the way and he would do his best). His boss then went on to blame him for some of the work that his boss had done! I can honestly say that I have never seen him so hurt and upset as I did yesterday. Never. He worked so hard, put so much energy and effort into it and the result is this. He told me he was crying while he was pulling up the patio he worked so many hours on. His boss didn't offer him anything so close as even a kind word. I was scared about what we were going to do for money but I was more horrified that someone I held in such high opinion could treat another human being in such a way, especially when that human being happens to be my fiance. We both spent a good few hours yesterday in tears. I still feel basically sick over the way he was treated. I could almost understand if he told his boss he was qualified etc but he didn't at any point and many of the mistakes were his boss' fault.
Well, after all of that, this morning, the toilet broke. It won't get fixed for at least 3 days. We can still use it but we have to pour a bucket of water in it to get rid of the contents. Sadly, it now works better than the toilet ever worked originally.
In order to get any form of money in, I rang round a few agencies looking for any jobs. I may have an interview for a call centre job on Tuesday. A call centre.
A call centre.
Additionally, his mother has decided to start telling him that he's always welcome home. Just him. They have 2 empty rooms and an empty loft conversion but if he needs help then only he is allowed to return to his parent's. I would in no way want to live with them
ever but I wonder if his mum even considers how that might make me feel. It's like no matter how nice she is to me and helpful etc at the end of the day she just couldn't give a shit. Even if it means seeing her son ridiculously unhappy she would still rather that we were apart and he was at home than anything else.
You know, it's all too much. Too much. It's getting to the point where I will drive along the motorway and just wait one second longer than I should before turning a bend. Just to scare myself. And I know that isn't good and I know I should see a doctor. I know, I really do. I just feel lost.
He told me today that my being so sad makes him really sad. I knew this as well but I don't know how to react to that really. I'm not sure what he thought telling me would do. And then a friend told me today how I worried her because she asked me if I was ok and, while my normal reply is yes, regardless of anything that I'm dealing with, I said no, no I'm not ok. I told her that this time, yes was too far of a lie for me say it.
I'm sure it'll get better. I'm sure there are people out there worse off than me. I'm sure I'm lucky to have a roof over my head, even if it is a mould infested, leaky roof. I'm sure there are people sicker, poorer, lonelier than me. I just don't care. Now it's just a case of waiting for the next thing to happen. Because it will. It so will and I can't stop it.
I know I need help.
P.S. How are you?